Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

The Good Life – 161127 v.10.0 “Risk and Oblivion”

I had a few instances today where circumstances nearly got the best of me. Nothing major… My life is far too first-world for anything worse, at least not very often. My problems are like the upsets of a petty monarch, frustrated that his toast is overdone, or that the minstrel plays out-of-tune. Could my principals weather a true storm?  The loss of another loved one, a sustaining job, my own health or the health of someone dear? All I can do is practice from now ‘till then; exercising moderation and restraint over the lukewarm temperature of my bath.

AFFIRMATION OF HUMAN AND CIVIL RIGHTS

I must keep the rights of the few in mind. I must remember the lesser among us and preserve their rights – which I share also – when considering decisions and actions intended to benefit the whole.

THREE OBJECTIVES

  1. The Development and Maintenance of Good, Sound Principals
  2. The Cultivation of Good Emotional Reactions
  3. The Performance of Good Actions (in accord with the principals)

THIRTEEN PRINCIPALS

  1. The Atomic Principal
  2. The Principal of Nature (Human Paradigm)
  3. The Principal of Maturity (Wisdom & Fortitude)
  4. The Social Principal
  5. Temperance
  6. Agency and Indifference
  7. The Best Seat in the House
  8. Reason
  9. Virtue
  10. The Path of Wildness
  11. Risk
  12. Oblivion
  13. Willful Time Management

TODAY’S THOUGHT PLAN

  1. Collect My Thoughts Before Dawn
  2. Compile My Thoughts Over Lunch
  3. Record My Thoughts Before Dinner
  4. Die Before Bed
Leave a Reply

