Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

The Good Life – 161116 v.7.0

It was a good day, though I have a few hours yet where many things might still go bad. I’m ready though. Each day I’m becoming better at managing my response to the various upsets and challenges which rise in the way. The key is readiness, and the ability to exercise controlled consumption of emotion, along with the application of reason to quickly identify the root of the issue and formulate a mature, rational response. And even when there isn’t time enough to think, to yet maintain hold of the reigns of emotion, and to not let this force take over my better self. It’s quite an experience and realization to suddenly find oneself master of one’s emotions during the heat and burn of the moment; to stand or sit steadfast and firm despite whatever inner turmoil churns and boils beneath the surface; a master at last of the inner passion.

—-

The Good Life is a perspective on living which seeks to align the days with well-developed and considered objectives and principals. The process is a morning mediation, spoken aloud, while alone with ample time to reflect and consider.

AFFIRMATION OF HUMAN AND CIVIL RIGHTS

Humans have some rights which must be protected and respected during the course of individual living and while pursuing social good. These protections must also be applied to minority groups of every sort, be they ethnic, national, religious or secular.

THREE OBJECTIVES
My day’s objectives are three:

  1. The Development and Maintenance of Good Principals
  2. Good Emotional Reactions
  3. Good Actions

TEN PRINCIPALS
My life is guided and informed by the following ten principals:

  1. Atomic Principal
  2. Principal of Nature
  3. Social Principal
  4. Temperance
  5. Agency and Indifference
  6. The Best Seat in the House
  7. Reason
  8. Virtue
  9. The Path of Wildness
  10. Willful Time Management

TODAY’S THOUGHT PLAN

  1. Collect my thoughts before dawn
  2. Compile over lunch
  3. Record before dinner
  4. Die before bed

TODAY’S ACTION PLAN

I will work hard today. I will sustain myself and my family through my effort and thought and dedication to my life commitments, responsibilities and objectives. I will arrive at work on time, do a full and complete nine hours. No waste. No excess. No cruising through the hours just waiting to go home. But when it’s time to go home I will do so happily, eager to see my wife, daughter and dog. To be home. I’ll exercise and do my swim. Perhaps 60 laps. All alone in the pool. Then I will go home, prepare my upload and words, enjoy dinner, a little TV and time with my family. At last I’ll go to bed where I’ll die. My life over and done. A good day to die.

Leave a Reply

