Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

My first adult conversation with Emily

I enjoyed my first ever adult conversation with my daughter yesterday. As she emerges into an American, her language skills have reached the point she can speak her mind in English like I could never do in Japanese. With fluency comes confidence, revealing the frank and honest mind of a 15 year old girl.

Emily told me some of her troubles, her pleasures, and a few of her hopes. She asked me about Japan, if I’d ever go back, and the things which made life there such a challenge. She even revealed to me a haiku poem she wrote in middle school. A traditional Japanese verse, revealing in three short lines the collective difficulties our family struggled, and ultimately failed, to overcome. She won first prize.

My daughter talked of her friends, and her families in both Japan and America. Her curiosity in others matched her willingness to share. A mature balance I duly noted.

I hope this conversation was the first of many to come. And the fruiting realization of a dream I’d nearly abandoned. To know the mind of my child better; to share, help and encourage her from adolescent to adult womanhood.

IMG_2034

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
