Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

The heart of an adventurer – The Path of Wildness – LylesBrother

“Dear Kurt,

My name is OOOO, a OOOO guy living in OOOO at the moment. Although I have not watched all your videos, I do watch some of them for inspiration whenever I feel down. I am OOOO years old now, and been doing different things up until now: working at a porcelain factory, going to university to study History and Religions, I worked in a second-hand bookshop in OOOO, in the past few years in a restaurant in OOOO. I have decided to continue my studies in OOOO, with Japanese Religions as my major next year. Although most of the people around me are happy and supporting about what I am doing, I do not really feel satisfied and there is always an anxious feeling inside me, wanting to go towards something I can not really grasp. All I know that it has something to do with Japan (hence my strong interest in the country and it’s culture), but still, when people ask me “why Japan?”, I can not really tell them the reason. “Why not?”, “Just because.” is my general answer to these questions. Being OOOO now, I feel more often troubled that I have not been able to deal with this question so far, sometimes even doubting myself if what I am doing is right. But at the end of the day, that anxious feeling is pushing me forward somehow. I am wondering if this kind of thing normal at my age, when so many people are already settled with their lives. Any thoughts you could share with me would be much appreciated! And thank you again for your inspirational videos, and sorry about this lengthy mail!

Best regards,

OOOO”

P.s.: I am travelling to Japan this November for a month, and will be passing by Shizuoka on my way to Koriyama. This might be to much to ask, but I would be really happy if you could recommend me any nice places to see in Shizuoka! I always wanted to see some of the places that show up in your videos!:)

—-

The Path of WildnessThe Path of Wildness is easy to find
The course of a stream
Leaves blown in the wind
A beast’s track through the brush
And the direction of our first inclination

The Path of Wildness is an answer and response to a prescribed way of life which may leave some individuals with a sense that their living is little more than a series of pre-determined, step-like episodes between birth and death. The stages of living between these events: childhood, adolescence, adulthood, parenthood and senior are themselves natural and in accord with the needs of the species and most individuals. Many find their satisfaction in living this course and to these individuals I have little or nothing to say. Others though long for something more; something innate, genetic and seemingly calling. Adventure and change can give a degree of satisfaction and relief yet even these may seem too tame. To those who feel drawn to something beyond the entertainment and stimulation of senses I offer a walk along The Path of Wildness. Don’t bother penciling the event in your schedule, preparing a pack with goodies and supplies or even inviting a friend along, for this experience is along the course of your first inclination and you must surely always go alone.

Follow me on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/softypapa

Find me friend on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/dinnerbytheriver

On Google+
https://plus.google.com/u/1/109050782163582511388/posts

You can also reach me via email at the following address: dinnerbytheriver@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

