Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

Letting go – Sons of Grizzly – LylesBrother

“Hi Kurt, you’ve probably seen me commenting here and there on your videos and posts, I really enjoy your videos and all of the interesting stuff you’ve been posting about lately.

I have a question for you which might be a bit personal, but I figure you’re probably the right person to ask. Getting ready to move back to the USA you’ve been getting rid of a lot of stuff. I’m getting ready to move to Japan (I have a plane ticket booked for the XX of November!) and I’m really excited about it, but I’m coming to the end of my preparations and I’m finding that I’m on a bit of an emotional roller-coaster. I’m really excited about my trip, but I’m also really sad and anxious. I’ve condensed pretty much all of my belongings down to a box and two suitcases.

I’m mildly autistic, so emotions and feelings aren’t my strong point. People with my condition also don’t deal that well with change. I’m not sure how much of the sadness and anxiety I’m feeling is due to that and how much is just a “normal” reaction to coming to the end of a chapter of one’s life and disposing of so much stuff with a personal history. My bed in particular I’m pretty hung up on, it seems a bit crazy.
How are you dealing with getting rid of so much stuff that you must have some measure of attachment to? I’m constantly questioning whether I’m doing the right thing and every now and again I just swing between excitement and nervous dread. I’m pretty sure I’m doing the right thing for myself, but letting go is hard.
I’ve written more than I meant to, thanks for reading this far.
-XXX.”

Welcome to the LylesBrother blog. My name is Kurt Bell and I am delighted that you have taken some time to share a little of life with me. If you are someone struggling to find your footing in life then please consider visiting our self-help and support website at http://sonsofgrizzly.com. I’m also available on social media if you have questions or just want to chat and say hi. All links are listed below. I look forward to meeting you on-line. Have a great day!

The Path of WildnessThe Path of Wildness is easy to find
The course of a stream
Leaves blown in the wind
A beast’s track through the brush
And the direction of our first inclination

The Path of Wildness is an answer and response to a prescribed way of life which may leave some individuals with a sense that their living is little more than a series of pre-determined, step-like episodes between birth and death. The stages of living between these events: childhood, adolescence, adulthood, parenthood and senior are themselves natural and in accord with the needs of the species and most individuals. Many find their satisfaction in living this course and to these individuals I have little or nothing to say. Others though long for something more; something innate, genetic and seemingly calling. Adventure and change can give a degree of satisfaction and relief yet even these may seem too tame. To those who feel drawn to something beyond the entertainment and stimulation of senses I offer a walk along The Path of Wildness. Don’t bother penciling the event in your schedule, preparing a pack with goodies and supplies or even inviting a friend along, for this experience is along the course of your first inclination and you must surely always go alone.

The Path of Wildness Resources

Follow me on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/softypapa

Be my friend on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/LylesBrother

On Google+
https://plus.google.com/u/1/b/117087668631068514317/117087668631068514317/posts

You can also reach me via email at the following address: softypapa@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

