Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

Getting stronger – Sons of Grizzly – LylesBrother

“Hi, Kurt.

Thanks for the response! I suppose I can give you another update since I have been in school for about two more weeks since my last message. Things are going alright here, I have made a few friends and acquaintences. I was unfortunately unable to join the Outing Club because all of the hiking trips were filled before I could get in to sign up for any of them. This is apparently a common problem because the Outing Club at my school is extremely popular. My only option now is to wait for the spring semester. I considered just going for solitary walks, but freshmen are not allowed to have cars on campus and there are no trailheads or wild areas within walking distance of any of the public transportation. One of my biggest frustrations is that it is so difficult to escape the noise and find somewhere private and quiet to deprogram on campus. I have taken to frequenting the library’s quiet study floor, but that has it’s limitations as well.

I have continued my counseling and they determined that it would be best to put me on a low-dose antianxiety medicine just until I can function better at school. I haven’t been on it long enough to feel the effect, but I’m hoping it will help even just a little bit. I was considering taking some of your advice on diet too, but it is somewhat difficult for an unemployed student with no car to get any food other than what is provided by Dining Services. This has also been a problem because the hustle and bustle of the crowded residence dining halls gives me anxiety. My diet has mainly consisted of pre-packaged take-out sandwiches, wraps, and salads from the dining halls which are not the healthiest options in the world. I suppose i’ll take it one step at a time. I don’t think my roomate is the kind of guy who would appreciate it if I filled our minifridge to the brim with salad, tofu and healthy foods.

As for academics, I’m doing alright as well. I had a bit of a “wake up, you’re in college now” experience with my first Chemistry exam, and I’m going to have to seek out assistance for that class. I’m going to see if I can go to my professor’s office hours at some point to discuss it. I’m really taking your advice to heart, and along with my own determination, I hope to overcome my problem. Thanks again and good luck with your big move back to America and your studies!

Sincerely,

XXXXX”

—-

Welcome to the LylesBrother blog. My name is Kurt Bell and I am delighted that you have taken some time to share a little of life with me. I’m available on Facebook and Google+ if you have questions or just want to chat and say hi. I can also be found at the JVLOG forum with other Japan-related content creators. All links are listed below. I look forward to meeting you on-line. Have a great day!

The Path of WildnessThe Path of Wildness is easy to find
The course of a stream
Leaves blown in the wind
A beast’s track through the brush
And the direction of our first inclination

The Path of Wildness is an answer and response to a prescribed way of life which may leave some individuals with a sense that their living is little more than a series of pre-determined, step-like episodes between birth and death. The stages of living between these events: childhood, adolescence, adulthood, parenthood and senior are themselves natural and in accord with the needs of the species and most individuals. Many find their satisfaction in living this course and to these individuals I have little or nothing to say. Others though long for something more; something innate, genetic and seemingly calling. Adventure and change can give a degree of satisfaction and relief yet even these may seem too tame. To those who feel drawn to something beyond the entertainment and stimulation of senses I offer a walk along The Path of Wildness. Don’t bother penciling the event in your schedule, preparing a pack with goodies and supplies or even inviting a friend along, for this experience is along the course of your first inclination and you must surely always go alone.

The Path of Wildness Resources

—-

Follow me on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/softypapa

Be my friend on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/LylesBrother

On Google+
https://plus.google.com/u/0/108027407488568902619/posts

At the JVLOG forum (my username there is “softypapa”):
http://jvlog.org

You can also reach me via email at the following address: softypapa@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

