Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

Kurt Bell’s Daily Menu

Your good philosophy depends upon your body which relies upon your health which rests upon the choices you make as to what food and drink you ingest. Devote some time early in life to an understanding of what makes good bodies and then take care of yourself accordingly. Here is a summary of my own, imperfect dietary solution:

Instead of three large meals in the course of a day eat several smaller meals. Here’s my own menu as an example showing when and what I eat. The times are my own, and based on my preference for early mornings and early nights. Please feel free to adjust as you prefer.

4:00 AM – Large glass of water

Upon waking up I promptly drink a large glass of fresh water. I leave the house for work at 6:00 AM and spent the two hours between when I get up and when I go to work cleaning up and preparing my lunch. I also use the time to enjoy some interesting  podcasts and maybe spend some time at the computer. Of course, I drink lots of water throughout the day, though this first glass at the beginning is an important start.

5:15 AM – One large fried egg & half slice of wheat toast

I have this small meal after I’ve prepared my mid-morning salad (below) and just before I get on my motorcycle for the hour-long ride to work. The dog usually sits with me and begs a few bits off my plate.

8:00 AM – Breakfast Salad

This is perhaps my favorite meal of the day, and maybe the most important, as it provides a great deal of my raw vegetables for the day. Here’s a list of what I usually include:

  • Baby Spinach – One handful
  • Carrot – 1/2 a whole carrot chopped
  • Cucumber- a few slices chopped
  • Tomato – 1/4 large tomato chopped
  • Mushrooms – 2 or 3 mushrooms chopped
  • Avocado – 1/2 an avocado scooped by spoon
  • Trail Mix – one handful of healthy trail mix (no chocolate or candy)
  • Lemon juice – Halve and squeeze one and a half lemons into the salad to act as dressing

11:30 AM – Kurt’s Homemade Chili

My chili is something I prepare in a large batch every two weeks. I allow myself a single bowl of the stuff every weekday for lunch, along with a half slice of whole wheat bread. This, along with the 8:00 AM salad is a very wholesome part of my daily intact (along with my wife’s excellent dinners). Here’s my recipe for the chili:

RECIPE

Ingredients:
I typically buy the canned ingredients at a discount supermarket where I will look for opportunities to buy larger cans of beans for a better price. I buy my meat at the same store. I get the vegetables at Trader Joe’s.

  • Chili Powder – 1 tablespoon
  • Cumin – 1 tablespoon
  • Beans (15.5 ounces cans of each)
    • Kidney
    • Pinto
    • Black
    • Garbanzo
    • Chili
  • Hominy – 15.5 ounce can
  • Corn – 15.5 ounce can
  • Canned Tomato – 15.5 ounce can
  • Bottle of salsa
  • Onion – 1/2 yellow onion
  • Garlic – one whole garlic diced and cooked
  • Mushrooms – a handful of mushrooms diced
  • Baby Spinach or Kale – a handful chopped very fine
  • Ground Beef – one pound lean ground beef

Directions:
Step 1. Drain all of the cans of beans, the corn and the hominy and add the contents into a large cooking pot. Add water until the beans are covered by 1/2 inch of water. Stir in chili powder and cumin and place on stove. Cover and bring to a boil. After boiling, reduce heat to medium let cook for several hours.

Step 2. While the beans are cooking chop all of the vegetables except the onion and garlic and add to the pot.

Step 3. Dice the onion and garlic and then cook these in a skillet with oil until nicely cooked. Add to the pot.

Step 4. Cook the beef in the skillet and add the salsa when the beef is done. Cook just a little longer and then add to the pot.

Step 5. Set the fire to low, cover the pot, and let the whole thing simmer for a few hours, stirring occupationally.

I usually make my chili in the evening in order to allow the whole thing to cool overnight after I turn off the flame. In the morning I’ll portion out the chili into containers for freezing, and for the refrigerator which I will then use over the coming two weeks.

3:00 PM – Popcorn

In the morning I pop a bag of popcorn (popped myself, not in the microwave) to enjoy as a mid-afternoon snack. Lightly salted.

7:00 PM – Healthy dinner

My dinner consists of whatever my wife makes, which is usually healthy, lean and very tasty. I’m very lucky in this regard as I don’t need to ever give my healthy dinner much thought. In most cases my wife’s meals are Japanese, with ingredients sourced from our local Japanese market. If you don’t have a Japanese spouse who likes to cook, then I recommend preparing a health-conscious meal consisting of meat, vegetables, brown rice and fruit. Eat what you want now (as long as it’s not something you know is very bad) and enjoy as much as you like (within reason).

The menu above is my own and reflects my limited sensibilities regarding taste. I’m sure that someone more adept in the kitchen might find better and more satisfying alternatives. Of key importance here is the absence of processed foods, sugary drinks or excessive sweets of any sort. I do allow myself an occasional fast food meal with my family and an infrequent indulgence in sweet desserts such as cake or pie. Popcorn at the movies is a must, as well as a few other simple and periodic indulgences which help to give my life spice and interest without taking away too much from my efforts at eating well. As for drinks I avoid bottled drinks and fruit juice (too much sugar) though I do enjoy unlimited quantities of freshly brewed Japanese green tea as well as a twelve ounce can of beer each evening with dinner (maybe two on the weekends).

I can’t emphasize enough how important I have found diet to be in the pursuit of a happy, balanced life. I was 47 years old when I made these changes and sadly spent so many years feeling tired, anxious, irritable, unproductive and downright unhappy, before I discovered how the very common sense fact of what I put into my body impacted the resulting biochemistry of body and mind.


2 comments on “Kurt Bell’s Daily Menu

  1. Fatima Emiko
    August 25, 2015

    Hello, Mr. Bell. I have been enjoying your videos for the past few days. My husband was looking for videos on the giant mukade and stumbled on your vlogs.

    I think I am also having the same problem of not eating right and therefore not feeling right either…it’s a somewhat vicious cycle of not feeling well and then thinking “blah! I don’t care! I will eat my cream filled koppe pan with my tenth cup of coffee!” I used to be enthusiastic about food, enjoyed my past time of watching and reading recipes and even dreamed to having my own cafe one day. Now, I am clueless everyday about what to cook as i have no motivation for it. I guess having three small children (eldest being only 3) does not help, so I hope this is only a phase, I have gone off tangent here, I came here to ask you about your budgeting for food since fruits are so expensive, but i notice the fruits your mostly ate were bananas, tomatoes and avacado. But, did you ever find that maintaining a healthy diet in Japan was difficult since things like multigrain bread, fruit or cheese are expensive?
    Best regards from Gifu, Japan
    Emiko

    PS, there is so much I want to write about potentially suffering from depression. it feels so silly to say it yourself… I have watched your video response to a depressed person, but is it not more difficult in Japan to talk about these things to your doctor? When you sought help, were you in Japan?

    • softypapa
      September 13, 2015

      Hello Emiko, I’m very sorry for my long delay in response. I have made your comments private so that they no longer appear on my site. I certainly understand the challenges you face in eating well and keeping things within budget. I hope you’ve been able to find a good way to balance these efforts in Japan where I know good food can be very expensive. I also hope that these efforts will help improve your sense of well being. Have you tried physical exercise as a means of helping you to feel better? I know that it can be difficult to find the motivation sometimes to get out and do it, though I’ve found that even mild regular exercise can have a very positive effect. Please feel free to write to me anytime if you like. I can be reached at dinnerbytheriver@gmail.com. Thanks again for writing. Have a great day! -Kurt 🙂

Leave a Reply

