Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

How to make a Facebook MEME with Photoshop

The Path of Wildness is largely irrelevant to a civilized mind - MEMEMy goal for this weekend was to learn to make my own Facebook MEME in support of The Path of Wildness project. I checked out a few MEME making websites though these all seemed to be geared toward creating those glaring, giant font, in your face MEMEs which are sometimes amusing and interesting though not quite what I was after. I decided to use Photoshop CS2 for the job, and using the text tool I was quickly able to pump out my first MEME. This initial image looked good until I uploaded it to Facebook where it was clearly too big to properly display in the timeline without cutting off some of the text. That wouldn’t do. With a little research at this site I discovered a recommended cropping size (403×403 pixels square) which nicely solved my troubles on Facebook. However, when I added the new MEMEs to my WordPress blog I discovered that – though the images had all been cropped to the same measurements – differences in resolution caused some MEME to display much larger or smaller than others. A little more research at this helpful site and I was able to solve this problem as well. In the end I put together a simple MEME-making workflow (included below) which worked for me and which I hope might be helpful to others. Below the flow I’ll include samples of the first batch of MEME’s I made which are linked to their Facebook uploads. Click here to see the same MEME’s displayed nicely on my blog. Have a great day! -Kurt 🙂

Steps to make an Internet MEME with Photoshop

1. Crop the original image 403×403 pixels square

2. Open Image->Image Size

  • Deselect “Constrain Proportions”
  • Set Width to 403 inches (I know… this size seems too big. But it worked)
  • Set Height to 403 inches
  • Set Resolution to 1.7 pixels/inch
  • Click OK

3. Add text

4. Save and upload to Facebook (Recommended file types).

My results are below (click to view on Facebook):

I'd offer my hand as guide Only then we'd lose our way - The Path of Wildness - MEME

Shadows lie along the path - The Path of Wildness MEME

A secular walk - The Path of Wildness - MEME

The Path of Wildness is largely irrelevant to a civilized mind - MEME

5 comments on “How to make a Facebook MEME with Photoshop

  1. sage
    December 24, 2012

    Save in .png format. You’ll thank me later.

    • softypapa
      December 24, 2012

      Hello sage, I’ve just done some reading on PNG format based on your comment and I can see how his format is better for images shared on the web. I have updated the blog to include your recommendation. Thanks for your help! -Kurt 🙂

  2. Create a meme
    November 27, 2013

    Honestly speaking, why would you even do that? First get a legal version of photoshop i.e pay for it and and make facebook memes! Nevertheless good alternative way but these memes aren’t that much appealing!

  3. Alexandra
    April 14, 2014

    Thank you for this! Very helpful to find just what I was looking for on the first try!
    ~Alexandra, HalloweenNewEngland

  4. opciones binarias
    May 3, 2014

    No matter if some one searches for his vital thing, thus he/she desires to be available that in
    detail, so that thing is maintained over here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 24, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
