Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

A friend’s interesting horse-fly story

Hello, The story below was related to me by my friend Speed Gimp. As I love insects I was definitely keen on his story. He has graciously allowed me to share the story here with you. -Kurt 🙂

—-

“In 1996, I had just come back to South Florida from a job hunting trip to Eastern Tennessee. While I did not find employment there, I did get to enjoy the SmokeyMountains and had purchased a new 35mm Canon Rebel EOS camera. I was eager to use my new toy and had aspirations of getting good at taking decent pictures. Whereas in the mountains I had encountered and photographed interesting wildlife (i.e. bear, deer, rattlesnakes), I was disappointed that such magnificent animals were not readily available to me at home. Then I remembered the Everglades. They’re not too far away and surely I can get some interesting pictures out there.

So I got my bulky camera bag with all my new fancy lenses and headed out to a place called “HolidayPark”. HolidayPark is little operation on the edge of the Everglades, where boaters can utilize boat ramps, and tourists can pay to go out on airboat tours. There’s a little building there that serves as a public restroom and a general store supplying visitors with various sundry items. Beyond that building, there was a gated off levee that must have served as a service road for rangers or something. That was my destination.

With my camera bag on my shoulder, I ducked under the gate and proceeded to walk away from the edge of civilization. I walked till I couldn’t see the gate any more, taking pictures along the way. I eventually found a divergence in the levee and continued along the left fork.

Though the isolation made it feel like a greater distance, I was probably about 2 miles out when I encountered a multitude of horseflies. At first I tried to avoid them, but once they became aware of my presence, they were mercilessly upon me. I can see how horseflies have been blamed for causing cattle stampedes, because much like those cattle, I broke into a frenzied run, clutching my gear as I bolted back towards civilization. The bastards pursued me.

Every time I stopped to catch my breath, they were upon me. I only had to stop twice before I realized that I needed to keep running till I found safety. So I ran all the way back, past the fork, past the gate, past the boat ramps and into that general store.

I stood there by the door, drenched in sweat and panting for breath while the clerk scrutinized me.

“What yer runnin from?”, she asked. “Didja see a gator?”

“No”, I managed to say in between gasps for air. “No.”, another gasp for air.
“It was…” gasping… “horseflies.”

Too bad I didn’t get a picture of the look on her face.

In 1996, I had just come back to South Florida from a job hunting trip to Eastern Tennessee. While I did not find employment there, I did get to enjoy the SmokeyMountains and had purchased a new 35mm Canon Rebel EOS camera. I was eager to use my new toy and had aspirations of getting good at taking decent pictures. Whereas in the mountains I had encountered and photographed interesting wildlife (i.e. bear, deer, rattlesnakes), I was disappointed that such magnificent animals were not readily available to me at home. Then I remembered the Everglades. They’re not too far away and surely I can get some interesting pictures out there.

So I got my bulky camera bag with all my new fancy lenses and headed out to a place called “HolidayPark”. HolidayPark is little operation on the edge of the Everglades, where boaters can utilize boat ramps, and tourists can pay to go out on airboat tours. There’s a little building there that serves as a public restroom and a general store supplying visitors with various sundry items. Beyond that building, there was a gated off levee that must have served as a service road for rangers or something. That was my destination.

With my camera bag on my shoulder, I ducked under the gate and proceeded to walk away from the edge of civilization. I walked till I couldn’t see the gate any more, taking pictures along the way. I eventually found a divergence in the levee and continued along the left fork.

Though the isolation made it feel like a greater distance, I was probably about 2 miles out when I encountered a multitude of horseflies. At first I tried to avoid them, but once they became aware of my presence, they were mercilessly upon me. I can see how horseflies have been blamed for causing cattle stampedes, because much like those cattle, I broke into a frenzied run, clutching my gear as I bolted back towards civilization. The bastards pursued me.

Every time I stopped to catch my breath, they were upon me. I only had to stop twice before I realized that I needed to keep running till I found safety. So I ran all the way back, past the fork, past the gate, past the boat ramps and into that general store.

I stood there by the door, drenched in sweat and panting for breath while the clerk scrutinized me.

“What yer runnin from?”, she asked. “Didja see a gator?”

“No”, I managed to say in between gasps for air. “No.”, another gasp for air.
“It was…” gasping… “horseflies.”

Too bad I didn’t get a picture of the look on her face.”

 

One comment on “A friend’s interesting horse-fly story

  1. Will you be in a position to guidebook me personally in your website owner or the dude that manages your website, I’d like to know if it might be simple to be a guest poster.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .
