Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

Walking stick insect – Real Japan Monsters

Walking stick insects (Phasmatodea) are fascinating not only for their alien appearance but also for their behavior which includes rocking their bodies to appear as twigs moving in a gentle breeze. These insects are called Nanafushi ナナフシ in Japanese. The behavior of moving their bodies in a rhythmic motion may also be a clever trick to help the insect discriminate nearby objects from background clutter. Some species of stick insects are able to reproduce without males through a process called parthenogenesis. Some species of stick insect make excellent pets as they are easily reared in captivity.

Welcome to the Real Japan Monsters channel. My name is Kurt Bell and I am delighted that you have taken some time to share a little of Japan with me. I’m available on Facebook and Google+ if you have questions or just want to chat and say hi. I can also be found at the JVLOG forum with other Japan-related content creators. All links are listed below. I look forward to meeting you on-line. Have a great day!

Follow me on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/softypapa

Be my friend on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/LylesBrother

On Google+
https://plus.google.com/u/0/108027407488568902619/posts

At the JVLOG forum (my username there is “softypapa”):
http://jvlog.org

You can also reach me via email at the following address: softypapa@gmail.com

Real Japan Monsters

2 comments on “Walking stick insect – Real Japan Monsters

  1. warpedgaijin (@warpedgaijin)
    December 12, 2012

    I love your blog! Really cool stuff!

Leave a Reply

