Kurt Bell

A life of courage, joy and independence.

Why I joined Maker Studios

Last week I signed the contract to join Maker Studios, an LA-based YouTube content development/management company which assists partnered content creators in the creation and marketing of videos, channels and brands on YouTube and beyond. I’ve since been getting lots of questions from fellow JVLOG members about my reasons for signing with Maker. The message below is my email response to another Japan-based content creator who has been approached and is considering joining Maker. I thought I’d publish the message and it lays bare my primary motivation in deciding to to hitch my wagon to a YouTube studio.

—-

Hello,

It’s good to hear from you. I signed the contract with Maker just last week. So far I haven’t had enough experience with them to be able to offer you a worthwhile account of the quality of their services or if partnership will help out with the bottom line. My reasons for signing were connected more with the fact that I believe that YouTube is about to start a challenging and very important integration with more traditional forms of media. My fear is that my channels will eventually be lost amidst the ever expanding numbers of content creators, and that my best chance at finding a place in the new marketplace is through partnership with a major studio. To date most of the Japan-based/focused content creators entered this game for love, with money coming in as only a happy surprise later. Big advertising now has it’s eyes on this market which means that there may soon be many new entrants arriving on the scene with the sole aim of attracting eyeballs and revenue. Many of these competitors will have resources and experience which will allow them to out-maneuver small fry like me. I’m hoping that partnership with Maker will help me to stay afloat in the choppy seas of change. Finally, I like the fact that my wife now sees YouTube as more than a hobby since I decided to sign with a studio. As for my experience to date: I can only offer the highest praise for the Maker representative who helped me through the contract negotiation process as well as the techs who are now facilitating the integration of my channels into the Maker CMS.

I hope all is well with you. Please let me know if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

Kurt šŸ™‚

2 comments on “Why I joined Maker Studios

  1. Jay
    October 9, 2012

    Kurt, you are obviously from the golden age of Youtube, when it seemed so free. It scares me that they’re trying to make youtube into a cash cow… Most of the stuff they act like we should care about is garbage, but digging deeper brings up gold like your channels. Keep up the good work. I consider your videos to be artwork, and good artwork is never forgotten by people that matter. Much love, -Jay

    • softypapa
      October 9, 2012

      Hello Jay, Thank you very much for your nice message and for taking the time to share with us your thoughts regarding the past, present and future of YouTube. I do rather miss the simpler times of YouTube when everyone who uploaded did so for fun without a thought for profit. That motivation will remain though the landscape will become far more complex as corporate elements and interests continue to reshape the environment of on-line video and entertainment. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comment. Have a great day! -Kurt šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
